CHAMPIONSHIP ROUNDUP

(Continued from page 24)

QUEENSLAND IOM CHAMPIONSHIP

Continued from page 24

23. Mark Arrowsmith	Sparks	289 pts
24. Bo Bijker	Popeye	294 pts
25. Roger N. Taylor	Mirage	346 pts
26. Clive Brooks	TS2	378 pts
27. David Thomson	Popeye	389 pts
28. Derrick Baan	Ocka	393 pts
29. Clayton Cowlishaw	TS2	393 pts
30. Bill Clancy	Forte	393 pts

VICTORIAN A CLASS & TEN RATER CHAMPIONSHIPS

May 12th & 13th saw the Victorian "A" and Ten Rater Championships sailed at the National Water Sports Centre at Patterson Lakes. The weekend was a repeat of last year, beautiful sunny days with NO WIND.

Saturday saw only a handful of races (read drifting matches), completed and the time limit being exceeded by most skippers at times. Sunday was some what better and we had some odd puffs of wind from time to time. Certainly not adrenalin pumping days. However, we did have a good weekend of friendship and this was aided by the presence of three skippers from Canberra, who, I am sure have been bitterly disappointed in having driven all that way to just sit on the bank.

Ten boats contested the event and the final result was decided between Lincoln McDowali and Rod Clack, with Lincoln finally winning by a small margin.

RESULTS

 Lincoln McDowall 	10 points
2. Rod Clack	19 points
3. Don Carpenter 28 point	s
Shane Owen	51 points
5. Bill Palmer	51 points
6. Allan Edward (ACT)	58 points
7. Alan Martin	62 points

Doug Bode	75 points
10. Lyndon Wilson (ACT)	78 points

Results of the Ten Rater title held in conjunction with the A Class event were:-

- 1. Bill Hutchison
- 2. Chris Ryan
- 3. Lyndon Wilson
- 4. Allan Edward

Sincere thanks to Eddie Kennedy and his helpers for a job very well done in organizing the event and feeding us, and to the skippers who kept their protest to the water, did their turns, and really lived up to the "A" Boat image of "gentleman sailor's ".

Report from Keith Snow

Continued on page 26



Lincoln McDowell's A Class, a modified Frank Russell Alien

May/July 2001 - Radio Waves - 25